Annual recurring revenue, or shortly ARR, is a calculation of revenue that a business acquires yearly or expects to receive from its customers in return for the services or products.
ARR measures customers’ subscriptions to a company, predicting average annual recurring fees for the following year.
ARR revenue is used to quantify the business’s growth, evaluate the business model’s success, forecast revenue, and attract new investors.
Table of contents
Annual Recurring Revenue is a metric that calculates annual fees a business could acquire throughout a year based on annual and monthly revenue.
It is a perfect indicator of how good are areas such as new sales, renewals, and upgrades behaving.
Businesses use the ARR metric for several purposes:
- To evaluate the evolution of the company’s recurring revenues.
- To predicts future income.
- ARR is a valuable statistic for sales and marketing management and decision-making, as well as for valuation, financial reporting, and predictions.
Why is Annual Recurring Revenue Important?
Overviewing the current financial situation and how profitable the products are should be the primary concern of every business.
Annual recurring revenue gives an insight into revenue gained due to new sales and upgrades (expansion revenue) and income lost due to customer churn.
ARR is an excellent indicator of a business’s customer retention and prosperity.
It evaluates a company’s performance in particular areas and identifies areas where revenue is gaining or losing ground.
If a business is observant enough, it will use ARR to boost revenue, advance business efficiency and make superior choices about personnel evaluation.
Additionally, ARR can show customers’ needs, promote cross-selling and up-selling, and add essential context for metrics such as churn rate.
How to Improve Annual Recurring Revenue?
A business should always try to increase its annual recurring revenue.
Different factors can influence this.
Some include acquiring more customers over time, retaining existing customers, and grabbing expansion opportunities.
Businesses can get more subscribers in an obvious way by using expansion techniques, including upgrades, up-sells, and cross-sells.
Also, an in-depth examination of customer retention and operational efficiency techniques is necessary to improve annual recurring fees.
Other improvement strategies include:
- Reduce churn
- Market toward ideal customer profiles
- Differentiate revenue streams
- Update the business model and pricing strategy
- Offer a freemium model
- Localize the prices
- Provide more value for the same price
- Improve dunning
Finally, lowering the prices may be a good strategy if everything else fails.
This may be the case if you’re entering a lower-margin area or seeking to expand your clientele by bringing in lower-income segments.
Difference Between ARR and MRR
Annual recurring revenue (ARR) is similar to monthly recurring revenue (MRR) but not the same.
The most significant difference between these two metrics is the period at which they are executed.
While MRR is appropriate for determining a company’s short-term evolution, ARR offers a long-term perspective on its development.
Most subscription-based businesses work on the MRR model.
Customers have monthly fees they need to pay for the services.
Where MRR calculates monthly revenue, ARR measures a business’s revenue over a year.
ARR, not only measures generated revenue from the previous year but is also used to predict approximate annual recurring revenue for the upcoming year.
Before calculating ARR, the MRR formula must be defined.
The MRR formula is simple: sum up the recurring revenue generated by that month’s customers for any given month.
Let’s say a business had five customers in January.
The monthly subscription fee for provided services or product is 90 dollars.
The formula would go like this:
Number of customers x average billed amount = MRR
5 x $90 = $450
The MRR is a very important KPI in business analytics, so please areas our blog on what is monthly recurring revenue and all the different types of MRR a subscription or SaaS business must calculate.
How to Calculate Annual Recurring Revenue – ARR?
Predicting future income over an extended period is possible using an annual recurring revenue calculation.
Businesses usually calculate at least one year.
For example, if a business reported $24,000 in annual recurring fees in the previous year, it is expected that the annual revenue for the current or upcoming year would be at least the same.
Calculating ARR is even simpler than MRR.
Nevertheless, how a business calculates its ARR will depend on several factors, including the complexity of the business model.
It depends on whether the business is built on monthly or annual subscription contracts.
Annual recurring revenue calculation also depends on a business’s pricing policy, the intricacy of its business model, annual customer revenue, add-on purchases, product upgrades, product downgrades, cancellations, and professional help.
In the most basic form, ARR is calculated by multiplying MRR by 12:
Monthly recurring revenue (MRR) x 12 months = ARR
$450 (MRR) X 12 (months) = $5400 (ARR)
Apart from this calculation, ARR includes all recurring revenue, not only monthly subscriptions.
It provides contract duration, membership fees, license fees, and other professional help customers get from the business.
Unless the customer is contracted for a term, typically a year or more, ARR cannot be calculated.
For Annual recurring revenue calculation, a contract must be at least one year long.
For example, if a customer makes a 3-year contract with a business worth $24000, we get the ARR amount by dividing this number by 3.
The ARR formula would go like this:
$24,000 (contract cost) / 3 (years) = $8000 (ARR)
Suppose a customer wants to start their subscription on a specific date in the middle of the year and end the contract during the particular date in the following year.
The business will need to calculate the days from start to end and normalize them to a year.
For example, a customer subscribes to a service with a start date of May 30, 2019, and end date of August 28, 2020, for a total contract cost of $24,000.
The ARR formula would go like this:
($24,000/ (EndDate – StartDate)) x 365 = MRR or ($24000 / 456) x 365 = $19,210
ARR in the Subscription Model
Many successful subscription businesses worldwide have very high Monthly recurring revenue (MRR) and high Annual recurring revenue (ARR).
Famous streaming platforms like Netflix have mastered the art of value-based pricing.
Netflix has three subscription models:
- The basic plan for $8,99 a month
- The standard plan for $12,99 a month
- The premium plan for $15,99 a month
For example, Netflix’s overall revenue in the first quarter of 2022 was close to $7.87 billion, up from $7.16 billion in the comparable quarter of 2021.
How do we Calculate ARR in the Subscription model?
Let’s say the customer subscribed for three months before upgrading to the premium plan.
The total amount of yearly subscription would be:
$8.99 X 12 months = $107.88
The total $ amount gained through the Premium upgrade would be:
$7 (upgrade) x 9 (remaining months) = $63
ARR = $170.88
If fifty customers decide to upgrade to Premium after three months, that means the ARR for those customers is:
50 X $170.88 for a total of $8,544
Calculating annual recurring revenue is crucial for every business, especially subscription based ones.
With ARR revenue, a business observes its general health and determines whether any decisions they make contribute to or detract from overall growth speed.
It tracks a company’s performance over time and compares performance across similar industries.
Lastly, ARR produces better products and assembles a better workforce when the recurring revenue earns more.
While it looks simple, the arr calculation can take a long time manually, so ARR calculations should always be included in advanced business analytics of any modern billing software like Tridens Monetization.