Customer Onboarding

Learn how to onboard a customer in the Monetization - Mobile App.

Topics in this document

Introduction

To onboard a customer, once the Monetization - Mobile App has been downloaded and installed from either Google Play Store or Apple App Store for Android or iOS, respectively, open the application, click Create account, and follow the steps below.

Home screen

Figure 1: Monetization - Mobile App: Home screen

Step 1: Insert name, email, and password

You are required to insert the customer’s first name, last name, email, and password. Then, click Next.

Create an account - Step 1

Figure 2: Create an account - Step 1

Step 2: Insert additional details

You are required to insert the customer’s address, city, country, and phone number. Additionally, you may include the customer’s zip code.

Create an account - Step 2

Figure 3: Create an account - Step 2

The Monetization - Mobile App allows you to search for a country by name.

Search for a country

Figure 4: Search for a country

In addition, you can also search for a city based on the selected country. For instance, selecting Slovenia as the country and searching for Maribor as the city.

Search for a city

Figure 5: Search for a city

From Figure 3, include the country code when inserting the customer’s phone number—for instance, +386 for a Slovenian number.

Step 3: Choosing a payment type and plan

Select the customer’s payment type. This could either be prepaid, postpaid, or pay as you go.

Choose a payment type

Figure 6: Choose a payment type

The pay-now customer

The pay-now payment type is the most straightforward and is called pay-as-you-go. By setting the customer to be a pay now customer, the customer pays for every separate charging session with a credit/debit card as soon as the session is over.

Before a pay now customer can start a charging session in the Monetization - Mobile App, a credit card must have been entered. To add a credit card in the Monetization - Mobile App, see Adding a credit card.

In addition, before the actual charging session starts, a certain configured amount is recommended to be blocked on the customer’s credit card. This is to ensure that the customer has money available on their credit card before allowing them to start a charging session.

Blocking a certain configured amount on the customer’s credit card can be likened to a pre-authorization.

Pre-authorization

You can choose from three strategies:

No authorization

The customer’s credit card will not be checked for a certain configured amount to determine if the customer can pay for the charging session. Therefore, the customer can start a charging session regardless of whether there is money on their credit card.

Only first authorization

The customer’s credit card is checked once for a certain configured amount before the charging session starts. If the pre-authorization is successful (the customer has a minimum of that amount on their credit card), that amount is blocked on the credit card, and the customer can then start the charging session.

As soon as the charging session is over, the customer will be charged whatever amount of money accumulated during the charging session. In addition, the pre-authorization will automatically release any remaining funds.

Peradventure, the configured amount previously checked on the customer’s credit card runs out while the customer is still charging; there is no way of knowing if the customer can still pay once the charging session is over.

Full authorization

The customer’s credit card is checked for a certain configured amount. If the pre-authorization is successful (the customer has a minimum of that amount on their credit card), that amount is blocked on the credit card, and the customer can then start the charging session.

As soon as the charging session is over, the customer will be charged whatever amount of money accumulated during the charging session. In addition, the pre-authorization will automatically release any remaining funds.

Suppose the pre-authorized amount is reached while the charging session is still ongoing. In that case, another authorization is done. The charging session will then only continue if the re-authorization is successful. If not, the charging session ends, and the amount owed is taken from the customer’s credit card.

The prepaid customer

A prepaid customer means that the customer has to pay in advance before starting a charging session. This, therefore, means that the customer will have an account balance containing funds that the customer can use for a charging session. The account balance serves as a wallet, which stores actual money for the customer.

The wallet can be topped using the customer’s credit/debit card. The customer’s wallet can also be topped up using a voucher code. The voucher code is configured in Monetization. For more information, see Vouchers.

Furthermore, you can give the customer some credit from Monetization by changing their balance in Monetization or purchasing a product that grants them credit.

To fund/top-up the customer account from the Monetization - Mobile App, see Adding funds to the customer account.

The postpaid customer

A postpaid customer will have a billing cycle—for example, weekly, monthly, bimonthly, etc., where all the charges accumulated during that billing cycle will be shown on an invoice.

Therefore, the customer can start a charging session without paying in advance or immediately after the session ends. Instead, as soon as the billing cycle for the customer shifts to the next cycle, the customer receives an invoice showing all their charges accumulated during the previous billing cycle. The charges accumulate with each charging session done by the customer.

The customer can then pay for the invoice via bank transfer, credit card, or cash (if supported). To learn more about how a billing cycle works in Monetization, see Billing cycle.

Choosing a plan

When a payment type has been chosen for the customer, the plans created in Monetization will be shown. You are to select a single plan for the customer in this section.

Choose a plan

Figure 7: Choose a plan

A plan is created in Monetization; to learn what it typifies and how it is made, see Plans.

After selecting the plan, conclude the onboarding by clicking Finish. The customer must confirm their email to complete the registration and to be able to sign in to the Monetization - Mobile App.

Confirm email

Figure 8: Confirm email

Sign in screen

Figure 9: Sign in screen